cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

lender doesn't care about money trail...

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

lender doesn't care about money trail...

i talked to a few lenders that said I need a paper trail of where the money comes from. I got pre aproved for a USDA loan, my parents are gifting me $1000 and the lender said I could deposit the money as cash..I'm confused..is this right? Do the lenders determine if you need a paper trail? Why would he tell me it doesn't matter? I don't want problems down the line if we find a house and no money trail...

Also, they are not on the appoved lenders list on the USDA website, should I not go with them and find someone else? I've talked to numerous companies but nobody ever calls me back. Smiley Sad

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
MoreRewards
Established Contributor

Re: lender doesn't care about money trail...

I'd make sure since they are not on the approved lenders list.

I'm not an expert but I've been told by different banks they do need to know where the money comes from. Though you can be gifted money you need to provide an explanation of where they money cane from. It's due to money laundering is what I was told.
EQ 773 * EX 786 * TU 797
Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

I recently closed on my USDA loan. The money trail or lack thereof was almost it's undoing.
Message 3 of 9
StartingOver10
Moderator Emerita

Agree with pp...I would find another lender that is familar with USDA loans. This one clearly isn't

Message 4 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

USDA does require a "paper trail" in the form of an RD 3550-2 form. Your parents will fill out this form to document the $1000 gift and verify that it does not have to be repaid.

As far as your lender not being an approved USDA lender, I'd contact your state's USDA agency representative about that. The list is here:

http://eligibility.sc.egov.usda.gov/eligibility/welcomeAction.do?pageAction=GetRHContact&NavKey=cont...

Message 5 of 9