Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

new grad seeking advice.....

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

new grad seeking advice.....

im a new college graduate who will soon be looking for a mortgage.  i currently make 110k but i have a whopping 90k in student loans.  will i have to pay down the student loan balance to get a prime rate even if i have ficos above 700 and 10-20% down?  your advice is appreciated....   a follow up question.  assuming the ficos and income listed above how much mortgage debt would sound reasonable...assuming im living within my means
Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
DallasLoanGuy
Super Contributor

Re: new grad seeking advice.....

@Anonymous wrote:
im a new college graduate who will soon be looking for a mortgage.  i currently make 110k but i have a whopping 90k in student loans.  will i have to pay down the student loan balance to get a prime rate even if i have ficos above 700 and 10-20% down?  your advice is appreciated....   a follow up question.  assuming the ficos and income listed above how much mortgage debt would sound reasonable...assuming im living within my means
You don't have to pay down the loans to get a better rate. Those loans will only affect 'approval' not 'rate'.... as the minimum payments will affect debt ratios.
Reasonable? You tell us.... what kind of payment are you looking for? What are the tax rates there?.... that affects pmt.

Retired Lender
Message 2 of 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

thanks for the advice, so what are my prospects for being approved for either alt-a, subprime, or prime with my current situation? based on your experience.  i was looking to pay about $2000 per month thats all PITI included.  so somewhere in the neighborhood of 300,000. property taxes in the area are 1.1%

Message 3 of 4
ShanetheMortgageMan
Super Contributor