Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

paid off HELOC, now is it time to buy a home? VA eligible

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

paid off HELOC, now is it time to buy a home? VA eligible

11 years ago I took out a Home Equity Line of Credit to pay off my stepmother's bills.  I was not on the deed but was the primary borrower.  Facing bankruptcy due to a 2016 gambling binge, I told her I could no longer make the payments which I had been doing since 2006.  She got the message and started making payments. Yesterday I checked my creditwise credit report.  Balance on loan: 0.  Paid on May 9th.  I have had no contact with her, so I don't know whether she sold the property or took out a 30 year mortgage.  Either way, I no longer have a $108,000 debt reporting.  It shows a closed account with a 0 balance.  My FAKO score dropped from 737 to 718.  FICO went up from 693 to 700 on Experien.  Other scores are 711 (May 2017 EQ FICO 9) and 702 (May 2017 TU FICO 8).  I hold 6 credit cards with a total of $60,000 credit line.  My most recent addition is a $6000 USAA American Legion American Express Card I obtained last week.  I wanted to support the cause and rejoined the Legion.  I really didn't need another card.   My other cards are NFCU cash rewards ($20,500), AMEX Blue Cash Everyday ($15,000), Chase Sapphire Reserve ($10,000), Chase Freedom ($5200) and Discover ($5000).  Maybe I should close some of them to make borrowing for a house more amenable to a creditor.