Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

refi question

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

refi question

Hello,

Need some advice - my FICO is 655 (EQ) and I'm looking to refi with the current lender as the ARM is about to expire next year .. i was close to 800 when I initially financed however just ignored some credit card payments that went into collections that really pulled my score down .. never had late mortgage payment (except once 2 yrs back which was a transaction issue with direct withdrawal) .. i'm trying to improve the score by GW/PFD however if I can refi now, I would do that .. Question is at this score, will I be able to refi at the published rates or am I looking for something much higher? I have been working for the same company for over 10 yrs, income is more than $100k, no other debt besides mortgage and have been in the same mortgage for 4+ yrs, taxes + insurance is about 7k on the house .. any advice will be appreciated.

Thank!

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: refi question

forgot to mention that the refi amount is appro $280k
Message 2 of 8
Lel
Moderator Emeritus

What do you think is the fair market value of your home, based on recent comparable sales in your neighborhood?

How recent were those skipped payments and referrals to collections?

When you referred to published rates, are you talking about the best rates that appear in bank ads, for example?  If so, then at 655 you probably won't qualify for these rates if you go conventional.  If you go with an FHA loan, you'd get the current FHA rate, but you may have to pay a mortgage insurance premium depending on your LTV and length of your loan.

Message 3 of 8
DallasLoanGuy
Super Contributor

what is the fha loan limit where you are?

Retired Lender
Message 4 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable