Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

windfall down payment - red flag?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

windfall down payment - red flag?

Hi,

I'm a newbee here. There's lots of great info and I would appreciate some  advice from the mortgage experts. I've never applied for a mortgage before, so sorry if these questions are very basic.

A little background 

I work as a tv producer/writer and have had a steady W2 gig for 13 years, plus I've always made money aside which I declare on a sched c. Usually, most of the schedule C money is a wash because I can find expenses related to most of it and the last few years I purchased production equip with it to increase my eventual profit margin.

Anyway, I've recently booked a lucrative job with will pay me 50K in a lump sum (total job is 75k). My hope is to put 35K of the initial payment down on a home (finally!) and keep the rest aside for taxes. The gig is from a private person, not another company. They've commissioned a documentary about their dad's life for his Birthday.

Here's the question (finally!). How will the bank perceive this sudden income when they review my loan ap? We had modest savings (8-9K) before. I ask because I've heard before that the bank wants to make sure that you get the down payment together yourself - don't take out a loan for it etc. What proof do I need to prove it's not a loan, but income? Will an invoice and contract with the client be enough?

On another note: Was just wondering if somebody could give me an idea of our chances to get a mortgage given our overall situation. We have good credit, but a lot of CC debt (in my wife's name).

Here's where we're at.

Combined income: adjusted gross 175K on our W2 (more on 1099 - but I showed a wash in previous years)

Just pulled my TU report: 720 - no derogs at all... 60 % rev credit available