Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

13% Interest on an Unsecured Loan

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

13% Interest on an Unsecured Loan

Credit scores are in th high 700s. Is it a good deal, or a bad one? I am new at this, but thought that it is kind of high. Should I shop around for a better lender (this was a Discover loan, I also have a credit card in good standing with them). Help!

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: 13% Interest on an Unsecured Loan

Unless there's something in your profile that would scare a lender, that is high for scores in the upper 700's.

Message 2 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

US Bank is running a promo for 7.99 % on unsecured personal loans for memorial day Smiley Wink

Message 3 of 10
RonM21
Valued Contributor

That definitely seems high. With those scores I would think you.would get an awesome rate with a Credit Union. Search the threads for info on PenFed loans for example.

Total CL: $321.7kUTL: 2%AAoA: 7.0yrsBaddies: 0Other: Lease, Loan, *No Mortgage, All Inq's from Jun '20 Car Shopping

BoA-55k | NFCU-45k | AMEX-42k | DISC-40.6k | PENFED-38.4k | LOWES-35k | ALLIANT-25k | CITI-15.7k | BARCLAYS-15k | CHASE-10k

Message 4 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

13% is very high for an unsecured loan at your scores. A couple of years back I took out a $12,000 unsecured personal loan and had 5% interest.

Message 5 of 10
Turbobuick
Established Contributor

A few months ago we decided to car shop. Lightstream gave us $20K at 2.49% fixed unsecured. We still haven't bought a car. Basically, the money is ours to do with whatever....

13% is high for your scores. I have credit cards at 6.15 variable and 7.9 fixed.

Message 6 of 10
iv
Valued Contributor

@Turbobuick wrote:

A few months ago we decided to car shop. Lightstream gave us $20K at 2.49% fixed unsecured. We still haven't bought a car. Basically, the money is ours to do with whatever....

No.