Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Choosing a Financial Institution

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Choosing a Financial Institution

So, I currently have funds between Capital One 360 (for accessibility) and Discover (just for the savings aspect, to have a "hidden/out of sight, out of mind" account).

I had been reading up on Alliant, as it seems to be mentioned quite a bit around here for the Share Secured Loans to help start building credit, but why is it not discussed as a primary place to have checking/savings accounts? I was looking at the rates, and it APPEARS to be good/hassle free, but I have no experience with them. Is it just because Chase/BofA/PenFed/NFCU have more recognition, or have some of you tried Alliant and didn't like it for some reason?

Also, where do you keep your banking and why? If it's not too intrusive of a question. That's just out of curiosity, as I am currently "shopping"/looking at other banking options at the moment. I'm fairly content with my Capital One 360 accounts, just wondering if there is something out there that I may like better than where I am currently at for banking purposes.

Message 1 of 19
18 REPLIES 18
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Choosing a Financial Institution

I opened my Alliant this week. I'll post when I have more.

I've been very happy with BOA and DCU for primary banking. I'll be joining NFCU and Unify next week, and that's probably it unless I find a really good reason to open a different account.

Message 2 of 19
creditfan
Established Contributor

I just started using my Alliant CU as primary banking for several reasons;

1. Fund available immediately after mobile deposit

2. Higher %APY for saving and checking compare to the others

3. ACH quick and free

4.  ATM fee rebate up to $20/month

what should I ask for more Smiley Very Happy

Message 3 of 19
Anonymous
Not applicable