Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to Budgeting... Where do I begin?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New to Budgeting... Where do I begin?

Hello. I'm new to the world of personal finance forums.

I'm planning a career move that would leave me from a salary over to purely commission and the idea of irregular income scares the hell out of me.

One thing I struggle to nail down in my personal finances is budgeting. I always tell myself I'll get around to it eventually and I don't.

What would be a good starting point into learning about the various methods of budgeting based on different types of income?

How much of my income should go to my basic necessities like food and shelter?

Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: New to Budgeting... Where do I begin?

If you are not using Mint.com I highly recommend getting on that ASAP!!! It will change your life and is the best budgeting tool hands down. It is made for people like you and me who would never get around to it on our own.

One other major thing is to make sure you have an emergency fund. Really everyone should have one although it is crucial if your going to be commission based.

As far as a percent of your income that is impossible to say, housing costs vary widely across the county. I would just try to keep costs as low as possible until you nail down what your income will look like. Also do not overlook utilities, they can be a major factor.

Message 2 of 15
Appleman
Valued Contributor

I would recommend you also look at YNAB. (You need a budget). You can try it for 34 days for free. It is one way to help manage your finances, and there are a lot of quick videos to show you how the system works.

However, the best thing you can do is start something/anything now to budget your money.

Best of luck and let us know what works for you.

Message 3 of 15
stellar
Established Contributor