cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to the boards, still learning financial ropes, advice?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New to the boards, still learning financial ropes, advice?

Hello, I have recently joined these forums just after getting my second credit card, the Citi Double Cash, all the info is in my sig, total available credit of $2,250. I am in my second semester junior year of college for computer engineering, So far have $7,500 in federal loans, but have paid the rest, I just started needing loans this year, the first 2 years were paid in full. So, after graduation I'll probably have total 15k in student loans at 4.66%. I think, judging by the scores, that I'm doing okay for my age, but I know that being in my lower 20s, I don't really know what I'm doing yet. My goal with the credit cards is just to build my scores and show that I can borrow money responsibly, I don't like to be in debt, so I always pay CCs in full every month, never carried a balance. I work part time at a grocery store at $10.50/hr working out to between 13-15k annually. I am mostly on my own financially, with the exception of my parents paying rent for me while I'm in school, but I cover all other expenses such as food, gas, phone, etc.

Honestly, not really sure what my question is, just is there something I should be doing? Any tips for a college student a year out from being thrown into having to pay my bills AND the $15k loan? 

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
longtime_lurker
Valued Contributor

Re: New to the boards, still learning financial ropes, advice?

@Anonymous wrote: