Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No Place for Sentimentality

tag
minski
Established Contributor

No Place for Sentimentality

I've been banking with Citibank for over 10 years. I've memorized the account number to my first checking account with them, and I LIKE the account number. 

I recently opened up an Alliant checking account for the 0.65% interest (compared to 0% interest from Citibank checking) with no minimums and no fees. It makes more sense to move my banking over to Alliant (minus the fact that I do not have a deposit branch of Alliant as convenienently close as Citibank is). But I'm feeling sentimental and reluctant to close the Citibank account even if it means not making Alliant my primary account, or keeping $1500 in a low 0.01% Citibank Savings Plus account to waive fees for the checking account -_-; It'll mean memorizing a new number, a new routing number, and getting used to a new website. It'll mean not sharing the same bank with one of my sisters or easily depositing cash into my account (my intended alternative is to give my sister the cash and have her give me a check or something). 

I had some concerns about money when traveling but I do have a Fidelity Cash Management account also opened recently. If I understanding correctly, I can withdrawn money from ATMs abroad without any foreign transaction fees and my ATM fees get reimbursed.  

I'll still have my 10+ year old credit card and a couple of younger ones. But it won't be the same. 

Anyone else have gotten sentimental about their banks when planning on ending a relationship with them? 

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: No Place for Sentimentality