cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reinvest dividends and capital gains or not?

tag
Marcos8
Established Contributor

Reinvest dividends and capital gains or not?

ok I'm really new at this. Just set up my first IRA ( traditional IRA). I owed some taxes and decided that doing something that had a tax deductible contribution would be better than sending Uncle Sam everything. I chose a Vanguard VTIVX target retirement fund based on my age. This all seemed simple enough and like a good place to start. In setting up the account I had to choose between reinvesting dividends and capital gains or putting them in a money market settlement fund. I chose the later as I briefly read that it may make things easier for me at some point etc but I'm still not sure exactly what it will do? Can anyone explain in a simple manner what this process is about and why it would be easier for me to do one or the other? I have found many web topics but they escalate quickly into terminology that I do not understand. Thanks!

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Marcos8
Established Contributor

Re: Reinvest dividends and capital gains or not?

Will dividend reinvestment help grow my IRA quicker? I understand at some point that I will have to pay taxes on this money... Is tracking these dividends and their reinvestment really that difficult?

Message 2 of 8
bada_bing
Frequent Contributor

@Marcos8 wrote:

Will dividend reinvestment help grow my IRA quicker? I understand at some point that I will have to pay taxes on this money... Is tracking these dividends and their reinvestment really that difficult?

Dividends from a mutual fund are just part of the investment return. The money comes internally from

3 sources, short term gains from investments the fund bought and then sold at a profit, long term

gains the fund bought and then sold after a longer term for a profit and dividends & interest paid by