cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Vehicle Decisions... I don’t want to be financially irresponsible, please help.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Vehicle Decisions... I don’t want to be financially irresponsible, please help.

Howdy Fellow MyFICO peeps!

I am trying to make a responsible decision in buying a vehicle and I wanted other people’s input or opinion in the matter.
I am 28, have no kids and am in a serious, long term relationship (7 yrs about to ask her to marry me at the end of November).
I am a project engineer and I make around $85k/yr. I also own a duplex that brings in $1450/mo in rental income with the mortgage being $950, so an extra $6k/year.

I commute 2.5 hrs/day to my job. It’s heavy on the construction side, but also development. I’m the lead project engineer for our company so I am often finding myself having to drive/accompany the owners and project managers to various, potential land acquisition deals.

I want to buy a truck or suv. I currently have a bmw m3... and she is my baby. 414hp @ 8200 rpm... she moves when I tell her to move!!! Vroom!!!!!
But... she doesn’t really have the best ground clearance/4x4 capabilities. I am trying to decide between a $45k 4Runner, but am a little unimpressed with finishes and a few other minor things.
On the flip side, I’m looking at two different trucks ranging from $52k-61k... a Chevy 1500 LTZ Z71 or a F150 King Ranch.