Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

08/Judgement

tag
Corsair85
Established Member

08/Judgement

Hey guys, in June/July of 2008 I was getting notice of a judgement being filed against me. The papers weren't served to me but to one of my parents at my house. Now, I paid off the debt by mid July of 08,  but it was still filed against me, and it reports on TU and EQ as a Judgement, but with a "blank" current status, not paid/settled, or anything, just empty. Now I was wondering if it'd be worth filing a dispute with the CRA's to have it verified and possibly removed, or if it would just renew it if verified as satisfied, and then start me at square one of the 7 year statute of limitations. Any advice would be appreciated guys. I've been rebuilding for the last 18 months, just got myself a Barclay card, and I really wouldn't want to lose that over stirring up a hornets nest. Thanks again!

Starting Score: 638
Current Score: 638
Goal Score: 720

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
hdrider07
Regular Contributor

Re: 08/Judgement

The best option would be to contact the ones that obtained the judgment and see if you can get them to file a motion to vacate it, if they do it will be removed from your credit report once you send the court papers to the CRA's.  If you cant get that then I would send proof to the CRA's showing it as being paid so that it can be updated to "satisfied".  That wont help your FICO score but it will help in a manual review.

Message 2 of 6
Corsair85
Established Member

Would it be updated as "satisfied" from todays date? So it wouldn't come off for seven years from now? Wouldn't it be better to dispute it all together and possibly get it removed completely?

Message 3 of 6
Corsair85
Established Member

Oh, and midland was who the judgement came from.

Message 4 of 6
pizzadude
Credit Mentor

@Corsair85 wrote: