Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

1st Financial Bank USA, settlement, fight with TransUnion

tag
aggieguy
New Contributor

1st Financial Bank USA, settlement, fight with TransUnion

First and foremost, I am completely addicted to this site now. What a great pool of knowledge! Keep up the good work. Now, on to the "good" stuff…

Long story short, I had an account witn 1st Financial Bank USA (FFBUSA) that I probably paid off three or four times over the course of it being opened. Eventually, due to little income (I was a student making $5.50 an hour working roughly 12 hours per week) I just could not "throw my money away" any longer — or at least that is how I rationalized ignoring the phone calls, letters, etc.

Fast forward a few years, I decided I would try to get my credit back in line. Before coming to these forums, I negociated a deal with FFBUSA that I would settle with a two-check payment totaling 40% of the balance. (I felt this was fair considering the credit limit on the card was $150 and the bulk of the $1,500 balance is fees.) They agreed to the terms I faxed to them, and even faxed me a letter back agreeing with the terms. Part of our agreement stipulated that upon accepting either of the checks they would report the account as "Paid in full" with a $0 balance.

Well, both checks cleared months ago, and on my Experian report, the balance is $0 but the accound is "Settled for less than the balance", and TransUnion shows a balance of $903, again "Settled…".

Obviously I am not happy with this. If FFBUSA is required to report accurately, should they not simply remove my tradline since they agreed to do something they cannot do? Or should they be required to report it as paid in full?

I called to inquire about the $903 balance on TransUnion. The representative at FFBUSA said to dispute with TU. I did. They simply "verfied" that their innacurate information is innacurate (I don't think that was the exact wording on the results page).