cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2004 late balance still showing on credit report- normal?

tag
acsbps1029
New Visitor

2004 late balance still showing on credit report- normal?

Looking at my fico today I noticed a credit card that I paid late several times in college circa 2004 the account was later closed by the bank in that same year. Shouldn't that be off my score? I am by no means a expert at this so any suggestions would be great. Thanks.

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Lechte
Frequent Contributor

Re: 2004 late balance still showing on credit report- normal?

@acsbps1029 wrote:

Looking at my fico today I noticed a credit card that I paid late several times in college circa 2004 the account was later closed by the bank in that same year. Shouldn't that be off my score? I am by no means a expert at this so any suggestions would be great. Thanks.

It should be off your report 10 years from the date your OC closed it...unless they charged it off...in which case it would've fell off your report 7 years from then.  The lates should have already fell off.  Was this account charged-off?

(EX08 - 654) --- (TU08 - 643) --- (EQ08 - 667) --- (EQ04 - 676)

Message 2 of 8
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

If you are referring to a balance under the account, and not individual adverse items such as monthly delinquencies or a charge-off, then that information does not become excluded.

The FCRA, in section 605(a), defines when certain adversie items reported under an account must be excluded from the consumer's credit report.

Other information relevant to the OC account is not excluded at any time period under the FCRA.

OC accounts themselves are only deleted if the creditor reports its deletion, or if the account has been closed for approx ten years, in which the CRAs may delete as an internal houskeeping measure on their part.

Is the debt still delinquent, and is the reporting you are questioning only that of the showing of a balance?