Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

22-YEAR-OLD Starting/Rebuilding my credit

tag
ArttheStudent

22-YEAR-OLD Starting/Rebuilding my credit

Hi all!

I posted this on another forum, but I think this post is better suited for my topic.

I am new here so here is my life so far dealing with credit. I am a full-time student and I have taken student loans out to pay for school. In the meantime, A couple of years ago, I applied and was approved for a Capital One Secured Card and used it for about ten months. At this time I did not know too much of anything about how credit works, except paying your bill on time. After ten months of using this card, I went over my limit and missed a payment once. I contacted CapOne about it and they told me that I max this CC out and could apply for another. I paid off the card right then and currently have a balance of "$0" on my credit reports. My credit history is a little under 3 years.

Now that I mentioned my credit reports. The first time I checked my credit score or any credit reports was 4 years ago( Freshman in college). I don't remember the exact number but it was well in the early 500s.  I have seen that I have 2 accounts in collections. These aren't mine and I haven't done anything about them until now. Now I have a credit score of 626.  I have teamed with Lexington Law to correct these errors. Also, over the years I have been applying for a lot of credit cards, possibly 5 so far. My last inquiry was January 2013. I was denied for most of them and currently don't own any CCs now.

In learning about how my actions could affect my credit, I have decided to take my credit more seriously. I'm turning 22 very soon and I have some more school left, I want to build my credit, show positivity in my reports, and start applying for car loans, etc.