Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A charge-off

tag
CoolKid01

A charge-off

Hi guys,

just a noob here trying to get some help with some old debit, I have old car loan dating back to 2006, I lost my job and was not able to pay the loan and was repoed :/

I'm trying to see what are my best options here, should I wait out the status of limitions.. or should I try seeing what my pay back options are.

since this debit is so old I would hate throwing money at it if I dont have to, but what would you do?

any advice will be great! thanks

Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
guiness56
Epic Contributor

Re: A charge-off

Unpaid debt never goes away and if, in the future, you decide to apply for a mortgage or something you would need to disclose any unpaid debt.

This will be excluded from your CR sometime between 10/2013 and 4/2014. 

What is your states SOL for suing? 

Message 2 of 12
goosedog
Regular Contributor

If you can afford to wait the year and a half to drop it off, that's what I would do unless you are going to buy a house or car in the next year than I would pay it off.

Message 3 of 12
CoolKid01

@guiness56 thanks for the quick reply, I live is Massachusetts  I beleive its 7 years. 

so you think even after the 7 years SOL it will still be listed in my report even If i dispute it?

thanks again

Message 4 of 12
CoolKid01

@goosedog House yes in near future. If i decided to pay them back, would would be a fair $.

I just really hate throwing them money knowing its not going to change my CR.. at least not right away.

Message 5 of 12
guiness56
Epic Contributor

I think you are confusing SOL and CRTP.  CRTP is how long a Charge off, collection, repo, can be on your CR.  That is up to 7.5 years from the DoFD.  SOL for suing is a state law and decides how long a creditor has to sue you.

MA SOL for a written contract is 6 years from the last payment made.

Message 6 of 12
CoolKid01