Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A quick question, please help!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

A quick question, please help!

I am new to rebuilding me and my wifes credit. I have read through a lot great information. One question, I have a old installment loan that should have been paid off when we traded it in 2011. That loan was through WFFINANCIAL and it shows as 166.00 write off. Should I send a DV to them or dispute it online through the credit bureau?

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: A quick question, please help!

As I understand the post, the prior loan was paid off when it was refinanced?

Was it delinquent and charged-off when refinanced/paid?

If it was already charged-off, then that reporting would not be negated, and would still remain, regardless of the subsequent payment or non-payment of the debt.

Message 2 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thank you for the reply. It was current and we traded the vehicle in for a new one. It says that apparently the dealership didn't fully pay it off when we traded it in. So the oc has reported 166.00 was owed to them and they wrote it off. That should haven't happened so now I don't know wether to Dispute through credit or send a DV.

Message 3 of 6
gdale6
Moderator Emeritus

@Anonymous wrote:

Thank you for the reply. It was current and we traded the vehicle in for a new one. It says that apparently the dealership didn't fully pay it off when we traded it in. So the oc has reported 166.00 was owed to them and they wrote it off. That should haven't happened so now I don't know wether to Dispute through credit or send a DV.

Welcome to My Fico Smiley Happy

A DV is only sent to a collection agency not an OC. Since this is the OC reporting the CO I would send them a direct dispute alone with a copy of the new contract showing the amount of the payoff to them (they are the ones who gave it to the dealership)