Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AFNI and Jefferson Capital: Two deletes, two methods

tag
djpete
Established Member

AFNI and Jefferson Capital: Two deletes, two methods

My wife and I trashed our credit the first few years of our marraige. One day, I woke up and decided to do something about it. I had 16 accounts in collects, my wife had 27. She is down to TU- 0, EQ- 2, EX- 0; I am down to two on each. We did this in 3 months.

The most recent deletes made me proud of myself, because I learned how to play the game and take back my credit score.

First, I looked at the forums and found a pretty good format for a deletion letter. I sent an email to recoveryteam@afni.com to resolve a cell phone bill on my credit report. The letter was stated as follows:

Last month, a collection was added to my account from AFNI. My name is ********, my SSN is *********. The account is listed as Verizon Wireless. I have no knowledge of this account and do not believe it belongs to me. I was not given notice that the collection was being added to my account, which is a FDCPA violation. I am requesting the following information:

1. Full original Account Number
2. Date original Account was opened
3. Any written agreements between myself and the original creditor stating this debt is owed
4. Full account summary and itemized calculation of alleged debt
5. Date of the first delinquency
6. Dates and times of any phone calls made and to what number in attempt to contact me concerning the alleged debt before it was reported to an agency, and so proving that these calls were made in the times governed by FDCPA law.

I also was not given the 30 day period to respond before the collection was added, which is a right guaranteed to me by law.