Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AMEX Optima Oasis

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

AMEX Optima Oasis

Hey Guys,

This is my first time posting in the forum, though I have been reading multiple threads for a little while now.  I thought I would jump in and offer my experience with the American Express Optima card and maybe answer some questions for someone since (as everyone here knows) there is VERY little information on the Optima Card online and even within American Express.

So, as has been the case for everyone else here I had an AMEX card and it eventually went to collections.  Over the course of a few years I (of course) heard from American Express to pay the balance of the card.  I never responded, until last month (January, 2018).  Somehow or other I heard about the Optima Oasis card (I think it was this forum), but anyway when I did finally decide to call in and make the payment I mentioned the Optima Card and the Collection Agency (Global Collections) informed me that by paying the balance in full I would be eligible for an Optima Card.   I got the standard commentary, once the payment is made and processed I would be mailed a paper application that would need to be completed and mailed back in within 30 days and at that time I would get an Optima card.

So, the timeline:

1/2/18 - Called Global Collections to make the payment

1/3/18 - Payment was debited from my account

1/11/18 - Received confirmation letter stating once payment was made I would receive an application in the mail for an American Express Optima Card (note: the letter was dated 1/3/18, so it took about a week to receive the letter)

1/30/18 - Received Optima Form (hardly an application lol)

1/31/18 - Mailed Optima Application in to American Express

2/7/18 - Got an Equifax notification that American Express initiated a hard inquiry

2/7/18 - Checked the American Express application status site to check on the status of my account: APPROVED.