Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AT&T - ERC Collection Settlement

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

AT&T - ERC Collection Settlement

This is my first time posting so I hope I'm doing this right.  I had an AT&T bill that went to collection with ERC.  After stating I was unable to pay full amount, ERC settled for half of the total so I paid the agreed upon settled amount in February.  Today I got a letter from a different collection agency for the remainder of the original collection amount owed to AT&T.  Not sure how to proceed at this point, do I dispute the debt since I paid the agreed upon amount?   I realize I still owe the whole debt but I was not able to pay the full amount and still don't have the funds to pay in full.  Is it legal for another collection agency to go after you for the additional amount owed if you agreed on a settlement with the previous collector for the same account?  Sorry, this is all new territory for me and it's really frustrating.  Any help or advice is greatly appreciated, thanks.

Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
silkysean
Regular Contributor

Re: AT&T - ERC Collection Settlement

@Anonymous wrote: