Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Aarons Lease Reported To Experian

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Aarons Lease Reported To Experian

I have been rebuilding my credit since January 2017 & I am still very new - I just found something new on my report.

I was surprised to find a recently closed Aarons account on my report. I just paid off my laptop from Aarons Rent-to-own 4 days ago. I was not expecting them to report the account to the credit agencies, but they did. I'm not even sure if it will show up on my EF & TU.

This the 1st and only lease agreement on any of my reports. So I'm curious to know the effect will have.

THIS IS WHAT MY REPORT SAYS

It has been reported as a 12 month Lease & under credit it says $900. It does not have any payments reported. It also has the account open date 5/2016 and Status "Paid, Closed/Never late. It only has 1 month of entry as CLS that was entered 4/2017

QUESTIONS PLEASE

Will this account be figured into my account age?

What type of account does this fall under? Installment account?

Is it considered to be closed by me or closed by Aarons? Bad or Good?

Do banks see this as a positive or negative?

Should I expect some FICO points with this account?

ANY INFORMATION WILL BE APPRECIATED.

13 REPLIES 13
rmduhon
Valued Contributor

Re: Aarons Lease Reported To Experian

It does count in your AAoA, hubby has one reported to all 3 bureaus and a second one that is only on one report. That one is going on 14 years old so it might not be there much longer. Since it's paid it doesn't matter if it's closed by you or them. It has never been mentioned in any denial hubby has had so I don't think it's considered bad. As for points, it depends upon the rest of your reports.
Message 2 of 14
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor