cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice for raising score, what to pay down first.

tag
lordofentropy
Established Member

Advice for raising score, what to pay down first.

Greetings all. I love the amount of information available on this site and the forums. I've spent hours perusing the available info and it's been quite enlightening. However, since I'm new to all of this, I'd like to ask for advice or at least some confirmation that I'm thinking about these things correctly.

I've got two main debts that I'm working on paying down. If I tighten up my financial belt, I can make some serious progress on paying the debts down.

The first thing that is always listed on the "key factors that adversely affected your credit score" is a public record for child support. I've read several posts and pages on myfico.com that say that child support isn't considered in the FICO score. However, since this line is always present, it seems that my public record for child support is indeed affecting my score.

Just to clarify, I am paying child support, current and arrears, so I'm not asking if I "should" pay the past-due child support, that's obvious.

I also have a student loan, that shows up as five loans(different loans given at separate times, i.e., school quarters). It was in deferment/forebearance for a while, but I've been paying on the loan for approximately a year now. The balances are higher than the "limit" due the interest gained on the unsub'd loans in school and then gained on both unsub/sub loans while in forebearance.

That's the background on my two main things I'm looking at. So where I'm looking for advice/confirmation is: