Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice for re-building credit and raising my scores

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Advice for re-building credit and raising my scores

I've been wandering these boards for a few months now and this is my first post.  I've found what I have read/learned from here very helpful and would like some personalized advice on where to go next in my journey of re-building.  Any help that could be provided would be greatly appreciated.

Some info about myself - 

- Filed Chapter 13 in December of 2009 (due for discharge in December of 2014)

- My current scores are in the 560-580 range. (I only have access to one FICO score, which is 568, TU, I believe)

- I currently have 3 CC -

Barcaly ($1300 limit, current balance is approx. $500) - account is approx 1.5 yrs old, never a late payment.

Credit One ($1300 limit, current balance is approx. $500) - account is approx. 2 yrs old, never a late payment.

Capital Oone ($500 limit, current balance is approx. $300) - account is approx 1.5 yrs old, never a late payment.

- For derogatories, other than the BK-13, I have 2 collections accounts, which I have sent out PFD letters for.  I can't say I'm optimistic about those working out.

One is for an old Sprint bill, approx $320

Another is for an old Verizon bill, approx $115

- Both of these bills are approx. 2-2.5 yrs old (if that matters)

I guess my main question is, other than continuing to pay on time and keeping my balances as low as possible (these three CC accounts will be paid down, hopefully completely, in the next 3 months), what can I do to improve my credit array and increase my scores?  The 3 cards I have are more than plenty for me, but I keep reading that I should, possibly, have 1 or 2 more?

As for the collections, if the PFD's don't work out, how should I handle those?

Thanks to any and all that sound off on this post!

CAC

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
p-
Valued Contributor