cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Am I on the right track to building credit?

tag
Insomnia
Established Member

Am I on the right track to building credit?

I've been trying to build my credit as of last year.   According to one of the sites I used online for credit monitoring, my Length of Credit History is - 1 Year 3 Months.  And my Average Age of Accounts is - 10 Months.   I have the following cards / accounts - Sportsman's Guide (Commenity), Capital One Secured, Fingerhut, Victoria Secret and Express.  I've already had a few credit line increases between all of them.  My credit score seems to be at a halt right now though.  It's around 670.  I'm just wondering how to get my credit score to increase soon.  I know the process takes time, but any tips on what to do would be greatly appreciated as I'm still kind of new to the credit world.

Thanks!

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Am I on the right track to building credit?

Assuming you dont have any collection in your file?

If you dont have any collection in your file, 680 score is a very good score to be honest with you.  The length of your tradeline will hall you back from increase the score, just keep up with your on time payment.  Leave 1 card balance report 1-9% and the rest of the card paid off.  Keep doing this will increase your score in no time.

I also recommend get an personal stallment loan, go to your local credit union bank and open one.  Having installment loan (small like 500-1000) will help you but with your score i wouldnt need to if I would you.

Other expert may have better advice then me.

Message 2 of 4
MarineVietVet
Moderator Emeritus

@Insomnia wrote: