Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Approval

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Approval

I'm brand new to the MyFico forums. I have worked really hard to rebuild my credit and have a positive credit history for the past few years. I have several cards, all bad credit cards and some store cards and I car loan through ally financial. I am unable to get approved for a mainstream card. Ugh! What do I have to do? Is there a sacrifice to a volcano necessary in order to get approved for a card with les than a 23.99% interest rate? If anyone has some tips on what I'm doing wrong, (besides applying and # of hard pulls) I would appreciate the guidance! Thank you.
5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Approval

Welcome to the forums. Capital One is a good place to start. Interest rate shouldn't matter in a rebuild situation. You shouldn't be carrying a balance during your rebuild. You should be using the cards to build positive credit lines and show low utilization.

What are your scores now? What do your reports look like? How many balances are you carrying on your cards? What's your utilization?

Boa, us bank, citi, discover it and wf all have secured cards. You may have to go the secured route. You may also try your local credit union. Depending on your scores lenders may still view you as a higher risk.

Rebuilding is a slow and steady process, it takes patience and hard work but you can do it. Good luck.
Message 2 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

The advice I followed from here was know and fix what is negative on your credit report (plenty of threads regarding that on here) 2nd use the cards you currently have wisely, meaning pay the balance in full every month and keep utilization under 30% then just WAIT (this is hardest thing, took me nearly 10 months). This really worked for me Smiley Happy When I started I could not even get a lousy retail card approved with the 8 baddies on CR and scores in low 530's.

Message 3 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable