Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Attack Utilization or Pay a Closed Account

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Attack Utilization or Pay a Closed Account

Credit Gurus, I need your advice!

I am currently sitting on a 590 credit score with Experian. I would like to get closer to a 600 or better in preparation for apartment hunting in NYC. With my next paycheck, I would like to do as much repair as possible. I can possible set aside 500 to 600 dollars to tackle this. I have the following credit cards:

Capital One 213/200 (due date 11/28)
Another Capital One 701/700 (due date 12/4)
Victoria Secret 0/3k
Kohl's 255/300 (due date 11/28)
Merrick Bank 575/600 (due date 12/16)

And I have a charged off Macys account for $559.

I was thinking to either bring the Capital One (200 limit) and Kohl's to zero balance or pay off the Macys. I am a NY resident, so if I pay the Macys in full, it should be deleted as it has been well off 5 years since the DOFD.

Which debt should I tackle first to get the best possible point increase?
Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
StartingOver10
Moderator Emerita

Re: Attack Utilization or Pay a Closed Account

@Anonymous wrote:
Credit Gurus, I need your advice!

I am currently sitting on a 590 credit score with Experian. I would like to get closer to a 600 or better in preparation for apartment hunting in NYC. With my next paycheck, I would like to do as much repair as possible. I can possible set aside 500 to 600 dollars to tackle this. I have the following credit cards:

Capital One 213/200 (due date 11/28)
Another Capital One 701/700 (due date 12/4)
Victoria Secret 0/3k
Kohl's 255/300 (due date 11/28)
Merrick Bank 575/600 (due date 12/16)

And I have a charged off Macys account for $559.

I was thinking to either bring the Capital One (200 limit) and Kohl's to zero balance or pay off the Macys. I am a NY resident, so if I pay the Macys in full, it should be deleted as it has been well off 5 years since the DOFD.