Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Authorized user enough to build credit?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Authorized user enough to build credit?

Hello wonderful forum. I'm still new to the credit rebuilding and I'm curious if anyone has had any experience with authorized users. 

My partner and I are rebuilding our credit so we can secure a mortgage (at some point). One of his biggest issues is lack of credit, rather than bad credit (The baddies are more me). 

This month, we added him as an authorized user to both of my credit cards (in good statnding, never late) and our 2 store cards (in good standing, never late). 

Is this enough to help him start building credit or does being an authorized user not help significantly?

We're wondering because we don't just want to start applying for credit cards and he knows he'll probably have to do a secure credit card to start with. We are just wondering if it's necessary for him to do that or does the authorized user on all of the above allow him to establish credit? 

Thoughts?

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Authorized user enough to build credit?

He needs his own cards.  Being an AU may "help" him get started, but he needs his own nice thick credit file.

Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thank you! We'll go ahead and apply for one of the secured cards next week. I'm hoping with adding him to mine, and getting the utilization down before we did, he may get a bit of a jump next month in score. *Maybe* he'll be approved for an unsecured... 

One thing the broker  told us was that they'd want to see a credit line open for 9-12 months. This may be too specific a question and we may need to call the broker, but do you konw if his age of credit will go by MY credit card being opened date (2 years ago) OR when we added him as an AU? 

Again, if it's too specific a situation, I'll reach out to the broker again. Ugh, it's hard to figure it all out! Smiley Happy