Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Authorized user question

tag
lpayton
Regular Contributor

Authorized user question

My aunt is willing to ad me to her credit union credit card.  It is about 6 years old, never any lates, and she does not carry balances on it.  She uses it here and there, and pays in full.  Here are my questions:

1.  Will it help, and please estimate point wise about how much. I am thinking 10-20 points? 

2.  Will the limit of the card go against my debt/income ratio? I don't know the limit.  I forgot to ask (stupid I know).

3.  It is with Cal Poly credit union...would I need to be a member of the credit union too in order to be an AU?

Please any thoughts will be greatly appreciated.  I don't have any debt in my name right now, and according to MyFico, this is hurting me.  I got a Capitol One secured Master Card with a $49 deposit, and a $200 limit but was just told this morning it wont really help me much and that they probably wont increase the limit. 

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Booner72
Senior Contributor

Re: Authorized user question

@lpayton wrote:

My aunt is willing to ad me to her credit union credit card.  It is about 6 years old, never any lates, and she does not carry balances on it.  She uses it here and there, and pays in full.  Here are my questions:

1.  Will it help, and please estimate point wise about how much. I am thinking 10-20 points? Yes it will help if they report to the credit bureaus and it could take a while for the AU account to get on your reports - it could be fast and it could be months.  YMMV regarding pointage and how long until it hits.  My dad put me as AU on his credit union card and I had to fax my signature and it took too long to hit my reports so I ended up canceling it before it even did.