Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Auto loan.. Sry if this is a repost!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Auto loan.. Sry if this is a repost!

Im new to the community so im sorry in advance because im sure this topic has already been brought up.anyways... I have a mid credit score of 600... Im trying to get a car loan for 20k... I have 2 credit cards ive been paying on time for 1 year and keeping under 20%. I have a car loan right now that i have been paying on for 8 months that i pay on time every month. The problem is my credit history... I have 5 collection accounts that are 6 years old for around 300$ a piece and 2 collection accounts around 2000$ that are 2 years old. How do i put myself in a position to get approved? Should i pay any of the collection accounts off?? Not sure what to do. Thanks ahead of time for any replies! I appreciate it
Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Auto loan.. Sry if this is a repost!

Pay one credit card down to $0, and let the other report at <10% of its limit. That will give you the most points for UTI%.

At 600 you should not have any problem getting financed. You may not get *great* interest rates, but you can certainly get approved. I got approved with 500 scores at 19%. Depending on your auto enhanced scores you could probably see high single digit rates. See if you can get preapproved at a CU, rather than going through the dealer lending meat grinder.

Message 2 of 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks for the reply! Do you think i should pay off the collection accounts?
Message 3 of 5
gdale6
Moderator Emeritus

@Anonymous wrote:
Thanks for the reply! Do you think i should pay off the collection accounts?