Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BOA Slapped Me with 4 Inquiry Fingers.

tag
ForumPheen
Regular Contributor

BOA Slapped Me with 4 Inquiry Fingers.

Bank of America does not want me to be their cardholder, I know for sure now.  I blame myself for failing to realize that once upon a time, the MBNA card I burned back in college belonged to them after some quiet acquisition.  I've been banking with them for over 7 years now, and thought I'd take the plunge and apply for a 1-2-3 card.  I got denied. I then tried for a secured card with a branch rep.  Got denied again.  When I looked at my reports, they had pulled Experian and then checked TransUnion.  I called for a recon, and was sent a letter days later asking me to give them a call.  When I did, they wanted verification on the phone number on my fraud alert file, but warned that it would generate another hard pull.  At that point I said my thank yous and bid them farewell-I would not subject myself to yet another hard pull with no guarantee in the end that victory would be mine.

This morning, whilst in the midst of trying to get myFICO on the line with me, I decided to call back using a number a kindly forum member gave from another thread.  The young woman I spoke with was knowledgable and personable, and she explained why it would generate a hard pull either way I went, be it secured or not.  I sighed, bit the bullet, and told her to run it through again as unsecured, now that my information was up to date.  The results came back the same, no deal.  This time though, she cited the reasons instead of stating the usual "they will be in your letter" bravado, and interestingly, she inquired about my MBNA account that had long fallen off my reports but was still there for her to see internally (so yes, these banks do remember it all). My score, however, was up from 623 to 716 with Experian based on their pull.