cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bad Credit... Don't know where to start.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Bad Credit... Don't know where to start.

I am new at this and still learning the terms. Things that have charged off.... two First premier cards, Credit One Bank, FRED MEYER card, Direct Loan student Loan. I also have a old cell phone bill & cable bill in collections. Long story short is I just stopped paying because I couldn't. I have a good job now and I can pay in full everything but the Student loan which I will have to pay back over time. If I Pay in full all of this but the student loan will it do anything to my score or am I just screwed. Everything is about 2-3 years old.

Message 1 of 21
20 REPLIES 20
BornSupercharged
New Contributor

Re: Bad Credit... Don't know where to start.

Do not pay anything until you have written confirmation stating that IF you pay the amount, then they will remove the negatives from your credit report(s). 

Once you have it in writing, you can pay them off and expect the baddies to disappear, and your score should go up. 

As for the student loan, there are situations where that can be dismissed. You may want to talk to a credit counseling service to see how to proceed regarding the loan, they are better equipped to assist you in this situation. But if you really want to pay it off, again get it in writing that says you will make X amount of payments for $xxx each month, and once it's paid in full they will remove the negative from your report(s) - VERY important to get it in writing from them!

Best of luck! 

Message 2 of 21
Bleety17
Regular Contributor

Start sending out PFD letters in the mail and through email. You might have to send a few before getting a response.

Goodluck!
USAA Mastercard-$2000 USAA Visa-$2000 USAA SC-$600 NFCU-$12500 Walmart-$3500 BestBuy $1000 Navcheck 3000

Message 3 of 21
MonsterMad28
Established Member