Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bad credit score of a college student

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Bad credit score of a college student

Hey everyone,

So here's my dilemma. I am a college student with a 586 bad credit score. I am extremely illiterate when it comes to the credit system. I owe my low credit score to the $150 copay that I didn't pay. According to the most recent credit report, the claim was made ten months ago. The collection agency is AMCOL, which, from my modest research, appears to be a collection agency that handles medical bills among other debt. Very recently, I signed up and received a secured credit card with a low credit line. I bought this card in hopes to start rebuilding my credit early.

One thing for the record, I am, thankfully, not too worried about credit right now. I am more concerned about when the day comes after college when I want to buy a car or or start a mortgage or maybe take out a loan. I figured I'd start to clean up the mess now and become more aware of my credit history.

With all that being said, I really want to pull up my credit score and I am contemplating paying off the $150 debt to AMCOL and have them agree to wipe it away from my credit report. I have done some research about pay for delete (PFD) and read from some contributors on this forum that it has worked out for them.

My question to you is: What do you suggest I do? Should I PFD the $150? Will I see my credit score rise? If I should go through the PFD route, what is the process (possibly refer me to a detailed thread)? Alternatively, will my good spending habits on my credit card, bills, etc. make up for that over the years and pull up my score so that the $150 debt won't matter in the long run?

I tried to give some details in hopes of getting a more well-rounded answer. If you'd like more information to help me with my dilemma, please ask and I will share more as fit.

Thanks for your time.

M

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable