cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bad form to mention SOL in a PFD letter?

tag
bahbahd
Established Contributor

Bad form to mention SOL in a PFD letter?

Is it a bad idea to mention SOL in the It the last paragraph in my PDF letter?

If we cannot come to this agreement and settle this matter now, as a Texas resident, I will exercise my rights under the Texas Finance Code to, at any time, request full validation on the inaccuracies of this debt. This account shows *** 2007 as the reported date of first delinquency with an estimated removal date of *** 2014. While I prefer to reach an agreement, the statute of limitations in Texas has already passed and I would be just as content to let this account naturally fall off my credit reports.
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
bodybuilder510
Regular Contributor

Re: Bad form to mention SOL in a PFD letter?

I'm sure the creditor knows they can not sue due to age of debt. Pfd is good enough.
Message 2 of 6
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

There is a legitimate reason to leave it in.  Federal court decisions have held that once a debt collector knows, or should reasonably have known, that the debt is beyond SOL, then the bringing of legal action on their part is a violation of the FDCPA.  Notice could support a later allegation of their reasonable knowledge.

However, that approach focuses on possible future litigation.  In my opinion, it does not foster an atmosphere of good-will in their consideration of your offer.  Same for the "threat" to invoke the Texas debt collection statute.  You have the right, and it might not serve a useful purpose to reinterate it.

Your choice. 

Message 3 of 6
JohnPTEX
Frequent Contributor

RobertEG wrote: 
In my opinion, it does not foster an atmosphere of good-will in their consideration of your offer.  Same for the "threat" to invoke the Texas debt collection statute.  You have the right, and it might not serve a useful purpose to reinterate it.