Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best way to approach removing late pays

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Best way to approach removing late pays

Hi everyone. Thanks for all of the great information. I am just getting started on this credit improvement journey. My goal is to apply for a mortgage in 6 mos. 

I have decent credit history length. But in the last 2 years I have had some late payments. The worse being a $12,000 credit union loan. I had payroll deduction, didn't miss a payment for about 2 years and then last November I dropped by payroll deduct, then switched jobs and let it get 90-120 days late for about 5 months. It's now current. And my goal is to aggressively pay it off within 6 months. I emailed my loan officer and asked if the bank may consider removing those lates if I have it paid off within 6 months. Did I show my hand too quickly? Should I write a letter with a detailed account of why I let it go? 

I also have a small credit card, $500 limit with Capital One. I have some 120 day lates in the past 2 years with them also. I just brought the balance down to $150. Any advice or suggestions on how to negotiate those away? Am I asking too much?

My middle FICO 8 score is 575. My mortgage scores are 513 and 538. I'm hoping bringing that loan up to date and paying down my credit card will give me a good jump. 

Thanks again! Sorry for not using any abbreviates. There are so many!

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Best way to approach removing late pays

I would definitely do some searching on here for goodwill adjustment threads; you should get some good ideas on how to tackle this issue from those.  In a nutshell, yes you want to start writing some letters basically stating what happened, why you messed up and how you won't let it happen again and would appreciate a goodwill adjustment to the account.  It usually takes persistence and results are mixed with this, but it's always worth a try.