Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best way to dispute TLs from credit reports

tag
improvedcredit
New Contributor

Best way to dispute TLs from credit reports

I have been trying to dispute a CO from my credit report and it always comes back verified. The option I usually choose is "I have no knowledge of this account", what happens if I choose any other option? Are there precautions to how many times I can dispute an account?

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
laz98
Senior Contributor

Re: Best way to dispute TLs from credit reports

Is it an accurate tradeline?  It is against the forum's rules to discuss disputing accurate information on your reports.

Repeated disputing of tradelines can result in the CRA labelling you as a frivolous disputer, meaning they won't take your disputes anymore.

Message 2 of 3
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: Best way to dispute TLs from credit reports

Here is your option.

If you truly believe that the account is not yours, you need to put that assertion into a sworn statement before a law enforcement agency, stating that since the account is not yours, it must have been opened/used by one without your knowledge or authorization.  You must allege potential identity theft, under the knowledge that any false statements made in a police report are subject to criminal prosecution.  That is why the FCRA accepts police reports as substantiation of a claim of identity theft.

If you take that step, it opens up provisions of the FCRA that are not based on having to dispute a negative.

You can first, armed with the identity theft report, send a copy to the creditor, and demand copies of their original account contract and of any business records in their possession relating to the account alleged to have been the subject of identity theft.  That powerful process is outlined in FCRA 609(e), and would be my very first step. It provides you with factual documents to contest your approval of the account.