Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Building New Credit

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Building New Credit

Howdy folks, new to the boards and credit.  I have a quick question......  I am 42 and only got my first credit card 4 months ago, a Capital One secured card with a $350 limit.  According to their Credit Tracker, my Trans Union credit score is 720.  I am a Realtor and have no proof of income for the last 5 years but am married and my wife has good credit.  I am also a user on one of her accounts.  My question is, how long after establishing credit with a secured card can one apply for a traditional card?  I don't want anything extravagant, just something to use for recurring    expenses.  We have no debt and the goal is to reach the 800's.  I don't want to apply, get turned down and then suffer a hit for the application and denial.

Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
-NewGuy-
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Building New Credit

@Anonymous wrote:

Howdy folks, new to the boards and credit.  I have a quick question......  I am 42 and only got my first credit card 4 months ago, a Capital One secured card with a $350 limit.  According to their Credit Tracker, my Trans Union credit score is 720.  I am a Realtor and have no proof of income for the last 5 years but am married and my wife has good credit.  I am also a user on one of her accounts.  My question is, how long after establishing credit with a secured card can one apply for a traditional card?  I don't want anything extravagant, just something to use for recurring    expenses.  We have no debt and the goal is to reach the 800's.  I don't want to apply, get turned down and then suffer a hit for the application and denial.