Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CA won't accept PFD - Now What?

tag
Etno
Valued Member

CA won't accept PFD - Now What?

I have a debt (student loan) originally with Citibank. Citibank says the CA owns it, the CA says Citibank owns it. It's reporting on my credit report as Citibank.

Anyway, I've been sending PFD letters for 6 months, no response except useless phone calls.They flat out tell me it's illegal. I tell them it's not (explain FCRA to them), then they say, yes it's actually legal but we've never done it...etc. It's been 6 months and they just refuse to budge. They offered me 25% settlement 5 months ago, now its 40% (NO PFD). It's obvious at this point with 4 agents and countless letters I'm not going to get PFD out of them. I am so happy for others here that are successful with PFD and I have done a few myself but it seems like the last ones left are the hardest!

I've been paying $100 "good faith" payments on this every month that goes toward the total. I want to quit paying these as soon as possible, so I need to do something. I also want to buy a house next year, and the debt won't fall off for another three years. Am I best just to accept the 40% with no PFD? Push for 25%?? Not settle at all? Help!! (Thank you!) 

The total owed is $3,900. I cannot afford to pay it off completely.

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: CA won't accept PFD - Now What?

A PFD is a form of GW to the consumer, so arguing the appropriateness of their policy of no deletion is not apt to foster much GW.

No, it is not illegal, but yes, it is in compliance with the "no deletion based on payment of the debt" provision in their credit reporting agreements with the CRAs.

If they agree to a settlement, you might at least request that they not additionally report a "paid for less" special comment, which will then make your CR appear the same as if it was paid in full.  Some potential benefit in any future manual review.