Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CC to build credit

tag
susiegee
New Visitor

CC to build credit

Hello,

I am having an extremely difficult time applying for credit cards in order to start building my credit. I have tried random store cards and get denied due to lack of credit history. I finally applied for a secured card at Wells Fargo, which I've been banking with since 2010, and they still denied me. I have just noticed a card called, "First Progress Platinum Elite Master Card secured credit card" should I apply for it? I also read that getting denied can negatively affect my credit score. Great! Smiley Mad  Or does anyone else have suggestions on where I should go in order to start building my credit? I really would like to know how to get this ball rolling. 

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Sangha1

Re: CC to build credit

This sounds like you have some items you need to clear up on your credit report first.  Have you viewed it in the last 6 months? Try applying for a Kohl's card by chance? 

My recommendation:

1. View updated credit report from each of three (exp/tra/equ), and also ChexSystems.

2. Dispute/Correct baddies.

3. Pay off/settle any open collections.

4. Wait 30-60 days for corrections to show on report.

5. Try again for a secured credit card.  Capital One tends to be a forgiving bank and great for rebuilding. I read tons of bad reviews on First Progress/First Premier/etc type cards.

Message 2 of 5
localuser
Regular Contributor

I would suggest going to annualcreditreport.com and printing all three reports.  They seem to give more info.

Make a spreadsheet with the info from the credit report.  This will help keep all of your items straight and when adding rows, add a few extra Smiley Wink

if any payment is behind get theme up to date

When paying off collections always try to pay for deletion.  Wait 30-60 days and save $60 and buy your three credit reports from here.

Get a cap one secured card and utilize that card wisely