Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CHASE charge-off not showing interest owed on CR

tag
takethat
Valued Member

CHASE charge-off not showing interest owed on CR

I have a charge-off account with Chase I am desperately wanting to be rid of. I have been making monthly payments (arrangement) for several years now. (Original balance $10,000).

The arrangement included about $2,000 worth of fees (Ouch!), making the total balance owed about $12,000.

My CR shows that my current balance is about $200 only!! (about 1 payment).

I had called Chase Legal dept back in Nov and the very unpleasant man told me I owed the interest that was not showing on my CR. So now apparently I still owe $2,000.

-Do I really owe this interest if it is not showing on my CR?

-Can I dispute these fees if it is not showing on my CR?
-Does this make a case for me in any way? Can I get this account removed from my report somehow due to incorrect reporting or any other reason.

Please help!!

Starting Score: EQ 618
Current Score: EQ 653, TU 674, EX 633
Goal Score: 720

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

Re: CHASE charge-off not showing interest owed on CR

Sounds like they were misreporting the balance in your favor, but that wouldn't be grounds to get the debt removed. Since you aren't using a PFD, I'd suggest settling with them. Offer one last payment of $200, for example, in exchange of full settlement of the account. Be sure to get it in writing of course.

Message 2 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

I was able to negotiate a summons yesterday with chase with 0% interest and no fees. I had an almost $4800 balance. $100 a month for 4 years. I talked to a woman in their legal department. They are sending me a payment contract to sign with them.

Message 3 of 6
takethat
Valued Member

Hi Sarabear,

I am already on a payment arrangement with Chase and have been for several years.