Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I remove a charge off if I PIF?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Can I remove a charge off if I PIF?

I'm in the midst of rebuilding my credit. So far I've been able to get about $15,000 in available credit with 9% utilized (working to pay that off too). I have A LOT of inquiries dropping off within the next 6 months (I admit this was my worst problem) and an accidental 30-60-90 late pay finally dropping off (I really did think I had auto pay set up!) There is one blemish on my report left and it was charge off from Verizon Wireless. It was sent to Jefferson Capital Systems. I know I should have contacted Verizon first but in the end I PIF with Jefferson Capital. My report shows paid/closed with Jefferson but open/collections with Verizon. Is that something I have to live with? Is there a way to get the Verizon part removed or at least also reporting as paid/closed or at least closed? Any help would be appreciated. I'm new to the forums and fairly new to actually caring about my credit. Thanks!

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
RonM21
Valued Contributor

Re: Can I remove a charge off if I PIF?

It may take time, but I seem to think the Verizon part should go away. If not, you may be able to dispute it or have it changes to paid.

Total CL: $321.7kUTL: 2%AAoA: 7.0yrsBaddies: 0Other: Lease, Loan, *No Mortgage, All Inq's from Jun '20 Car Shopping

BoA-55k | NFCU-45k | AMEX-42k | DISC-40.6k | PENFED-38.4k | LOWES-35k | ALLIANT-25k | CITI-15.7k | BARCLAYS-15k | CHASE-10k

Message 2 of 5
TRC_WA
Senior Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

an accidental 30-60-90 late pay finally dropping off (I really did think I had auto pay set up!)

Not to derail the thread but I'm curious how that happens...

I don't use autopay on anything... but if I did... lets say my car payment for instance... $600.