cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can they do this?

tag
shep85037

Can they do this?

Hi guys this is my first time posting here and  just did my fico score and there is 2 negative marks on my account that shows like it just happened in September of 2011 when in actuality the last date of activity was in aug 2008. Isn't there supposed to be a SOL on how many years that they are aloud to put a negative mark on my account? Thanks for your help

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
guiness56
Epic Contributor

Re: Can they do this?

Welcome to the forums.

No, there is no law that requires reporting to be done within a certain amount of time.  A negative can be added anytime until the 7.5 years from the DoFD is up.

Message 2 of 10
shep85037

They had already shown it to collection before this along time ago and now its like I was just late as again as of recently. So they can just keep reposting on my credit report as they want ? Thanks for the help and thequick response.

Message 3 of 10
guiness56
Epic Contributor

It was on your CR before and removed?  If so why?

If the debt was sold/transferred the new CA/creditor can report it also.

Message 4 of 10
shep85037

Ok  I guess I misunderstood the SOL. Thank you very much for your help

Message 5 of 10
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

Don't confuse SOL with CRTP. SOL is based off state law and has zero to do with credit reporting. SOL is the time frame a credit has to sue you for an unpaid debt and varies from 3 to 15 years depending on the debt type and where you live.