Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cancellation of Debt

tag
JellyBeanJJ

Cancellation of Debt

Hi,

I'm a newbie that wants to fix my credit. I have two issues and decided to post here in hopes I get help. I had two vehicle leased through NMAC. One vehicle was repossessed involuntarily it has a balance of $9436 due. The other vehilce was totaled it has a balance of $1846 due which is missed payments. What options do I have to get this behind me. I know I will have to pay the repossession off with time. Is cancellation of debt for the totaled vehicle an option? Is that a good idea? I'm so confused Please Help!!!!!

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: Cancellation of Debt

What was their net recovery/loss after any reimbursement from your insurance vs the unpaid amount of the loan?

If they have been made whole, then I dont see an issue of any remaining debt.  If not, they can pusue additional recoup of loss via business actions such as a charge-off or sale of the debt to another.

I'm skeptical that they would simply cancel any remaining obligation.  I would be concerned about an additonal reporing of a charge-off if there is a legitimate remaining debt, and/or referral for collection, or sale of the bad debt to a debt collector.

Message 2 of 10
singleindependentmom
New Contributor

On the repo car they will sell it in auction and if they sell it for less than what you owe you will have to pay that back to the bank. It they sell the car for more than you owe you will get a check.

If they sell the car for less than you owe you can ask to short pay the balance to settle the debt. I'm going through this myself so that my experience.

As for the other one I'm not sure about.

Starting Score: Experian 514 Equifax 510 TransUnion 510
Current Score: Experian 630 and everything still In Progress
Goal Score: First Goal 650

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge
Message 3 of 10
JellyBeanJJ