cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Capital One Charge Off...Is There Anything I Can Do?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Capital One Charge Off...Is There Anything I Can Do?

Hi Everyone,

I'm new at this, so bear with me. I'm a small business, and in 2007-2009 my credit rating took a drubbing. Barely survived it. No Bankruptcies, no foreclosures (but it was very close...) Although i am back on track now with one year of perfect payments on all current accounts, I desperately want to refinance my house, but I'm afraid to apply for a loan. Ad here's why: I had a Capital One Credit Card Charge Off on my credit report on July of 2009 for $5500 (DOFD was January 2009). Although the card was closed, with interest this amount has grown to $8500. I live in North Carolina where the SOL is 3 years on revolving debt, so it is out of statute, and I do not risk being sued if I try to resolve this (I don't think.) I have validated the debt directly with Capital One, it's accurate, they own it, and validated it.

My questions are:

How should I proceed in order to raise my credit score the most? Do I risk reactivating the debt by calling up and offering a settlement directly to Capital One? I am being severely penalized on my credit report by it saying that I have utilized 109% of my available revolving credit, but in fact, I currently only have 3 "rebuilding" credit cards with a grand total balance of $17. It's the old $8500 charge off from Capital One that is killing me. (Available credit utilization is supposedly responsible for about 25% of your credit score, so I really want the balance to go to $0.)(At least I *think* that would have the greatest impact on my FICO score.) What would a good number be to offer them? Does anyone have any experience with this?

Please help save me from making a rookie credit repair error! Any advice would be hugely appreciated. Thanks.

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
scarrollprint
Frequent Contributor