cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Capital One GW 30 day removal request - failed

tag
BettyDL

Capital One GW 30 day removal request - failed

Hello, this is my first time using this forum so thank you in advance.  

I've read a lot of posts about the GW removals, and contacting the company through the backdoor numbers.   Here is my situation.

I have a 30 day from Feb 2011 that I'm trying to have removed from Cap 1.  This late was a result of a change of banking set up with automatic payment.  I made an error on the set up and while traveling, the payment didn't process.  I didn't get any notice or call from Cap 1 that it was late, and I hadn't noticed since I always set up everything to pay on auto payment.  In Feb, I recd my experian notifcation on the 30 late, which is how i realized that my payment for Jan didn't go through, resulting in the 30 day late in Feb when the statement closed.   I agree this is an oversight on my part, an error I've been kicking myself for since.   I have a perfect account with Captial one since 2000. 

Now that I'm trying to buy a house, I'm getting a real hard time with lenders with this 30 day late so recent and really affecting my loan options.   I called the backdoor number for Cap 1, explained my situation, asked them for a courtesty removal.  The gentleman was really nice, told me everyone makes mistakes, i was a good customer, etc etc and that he'd submit it for removal.  I just rec'd two letters in the mail:

1)  Letter stating that the Feb 2011 late reporting was accurate and then some verbiage proper reporting about what i should do to keep my account from being late.

2) Letter stating that Jan 2011 was accurate and was not reported late (which i never disputed).