cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Capital One pre-approved...but denied...suggestions?

tag
Techngro
Established Member

Capital One pre-approved...but denied...suggestions?

I have been rebuilding for almost two years now. I started with a Cap One secured card, then got pre-approved for a Merrick Bank card, then added a few store cards. My credit scores have slowly been climbing, but I wasn't planning on applying for any new cards in the next 6 months or so. But today I recieved a Capital One pre-approval for their Platinum Card. The terms looked good (no annual fee, 0 APR until Feb, etc), so I decided to apply online using the website on the letter.

Well, I was denied. Which kind of pisses me off because I heard that they pull all three credit reports. They said I would receive a letter in a few weeks.

Is it worth it at all to try and call someone to review my application? 

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
spike69
Frequent Contributor

Re: Capital One pre-approved...but denied...suggestions?

You could recon or contact the EO. I've seen a lot of success with this on the boards here.

Message 2 of 8
BigBS
Senior Contributor

You have already eaten the HP, so nothing to lose from a recon.  Remember, those pre-approval letters/messages are simply that . . . letters/messages.  Not a guarantee of anything.

Score: EQ(809) EX(819) TU(800)
INQs: EQ(7) EX(16) TU(8)
Last INQ: 13 Jul 23

Total Credit Limit - $2.0M

Message 3 of 8
Cat27hargadon
New Contributor

What do you mean by "recon or contacting the EO"? 

Message 4 of 8
CreditHealthy
Established Contributor