cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Charge off question

tag
Niceguy

Charge off question

I have been working on my credit report for about 6 months now. When I was young I mis managed credit badly a few years ago, I was 22 and had $15,000 of available credit cards and used it all on stupid stuff. Long story short I fell behind and thought I'd never be able to fix my credit so I didn't pay any credit cards (just car loan) and decided to wait 7 years for all of the negatives to falloff. That was 3 1/2 yrs ago and I am in a spot where I want to fix my credit. I have a car loan that will be paid in full next September (this was from when I had good credit so interest rate is only 8.3%) and I have 3 secured cards 1-$1000 1-$1000 1-$500 oldest one is 6 months old and newest one is 2 months old. I keep balances less than 5% and pay in full every month and need to increase my scores a lot still so I'm looking to still clean up credit report and rebuild My credit.Transunion is a 555 and Equifax is a 650. I have gotten rid of most baddies but have a few questions any help is greatly appreciated. 

1. I had a b of a charge off for $10,000 that is out of sol and is reporting as a b of a $0 charge off and asset acceptance corp as a $18,000 collection. So who do I contact to resolve this account and how much should I offer $$$ for pfd 

2. I have an eos collection fort AT&T that doesn't belong to me but came back verified, how do I proceed ?

3. Do I need more than 3 secured cards or should I increase my secured credit limits ?

thanks

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
Shogun
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Charge off question

1.  You will have to deal with Asset Acceptance on this debt.  The OC has sold it off and no longer has any claim to it, hence it is reporting the $0 balance.  As far as how much to offer, that is totally up to you but make for certain you are outside the SOL, this is a large amount.  Maybe start with 25% and see where to go from there.