cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Charge off

tag
firedancer41

Charge off

I'm trying to rebuild my credit and I have an old Kohls card that has been charged off for $314. I was in college full time with no job and was unable to pay on it. I think moost of it is from fees. Date of first delinquency is 6/2010. I'm not exactly sure when that will fall off. I'm much more responsible now! This is the only thing really bringing me down besides 2 medical bills equalled to $600. Should I just wait and let it fall off if it's close to time or do a PFD? I just need some advice! I'm new to all of this and just want to get it settled so it will quit haunting me! Thanks in advance! Smiley Happy

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
newstart2010
Blogger

Re: Charge off

PFD all of the accounts.  The charge off wil stay on 7 years and 180 days from the date of first delinquency.  So in 2017.

I live my life like I type, fast and with a lot of mistakes.
Spacebar broken. Watch for finger.

02/04/2015 || TU 08: 728 EX 08: 709 EQ 08: 748

Message 2 of 8
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Just waitng for it to "fall off" does not result in satisfaction of the debt or in deletion from your credit file.

A PFD, if accepted, results in both.

Message 3 of 8
firedancer41

Thank you for the advice! I'm just ready to get it taken care of and continue rebuilding my credit!

Message 4 of 8
gdale6
Moderator Emeritus

On the medical CAs if they wont go for the PFD then you can Google and use the HIPAA Process.

Message 5 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

What do you mean by this? When it falls off, there can still be an effect on your credit score? The reason I ask is because I have an old CC that was charged off and it is going to fall off in a couple months, why should I PIF?

Message 6 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

@RobertEG wrote:

Just waitng for it to "fall off" does not result in satisfaction of the debt or in deletion from your credit file.