cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Chasing FICO! My first month - up from 562 to 669!

tag
ChasingFiCo

Chasing FICO! My first month - up from 562 to 669!

Like many other people that are on this Forum, I am trying to clean up my credit.  For years I have felt haunted by past mistakes and just couldn't seem to get out of the bottom of the well.  After joining this site a month ago, I really wish I'd known about it 10 years ago!  What a difference a month has made & how much I have learned!  I've put much into practice right away & I'm still learning.  THANK YOU all so much for sharing your journeys and what has worked, and providing tips on how to clean things up.  I still have some work to do, but one month in, I'm feeling like a whole new FICO person!  Here are my details: 

March 2014

Citi  5122/5000

Comenity  137/150

CFNA  1051/1200

1-CapOne  772/750

2-CapOne  718/750

3-CapOne  283/300

GE/Care  351/500

BBRZ-Citi  256/300

GECRB  453/500

Fingerhut  0/200

March 2014 -  EQ: 562    /  EX:  ??  /  TU:   546   // Utilization 94%

Solution:  Took out 401k loan to pay off all CC debt.  I don't presume to make this a suggestion for anyone, but it was the right solution for me.  High interest credit cards w/ balances were costing me a lot more than the cost of a low interest rate loan on my 401k, even if that meant lost growth in the meantime.  The added bonus is that this loan does not get report to the CRAs.

I don’t really recall when I would have applied for Fingerhut credit, but it just sits out there as zero; has never been used.  Don’t need it, but from everything I’ve read, it’s good to have it showing as available credit; so I’m leaving it for now.

May 2014

Citi   552/5000

Comentiy  0/200; CLI +50

CFNA  0/1200

1-CapOne  0/750

2-CapOne  0/750

3-CapOne  0/750; CLI +450

GE/Care  0/500

BBRZ-Citi  0/300

GECRB  0/500

Fingerhut  0/250; CLI +50