Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Child support showing on Credit Report

tag
remarc
Regular Contributor

Child support showing on Credit Report

Does this Hurt my scores? Does it affect getting new credit or higher credit limits?

When I moved to this country I owed child support for the 2 years I didn't live here. I paid it in full but by then they had already sent it to collections. Sense then I've never been late & it's all paid.

My report shows not a collection but a open loan. It shows current with no lates & in order.

Is this hurting my score? Can I get it removed?

For the record before people claiming I'm a dead beat dad. I've always laid my child support & more.
Message 1 of 16
15 REPLIES 15
KnewBee
New Contributor

Re: Child support showing on Credit Report

Hi, you may want to do more research as i am not an expert on this, but since your post had no replies yet thought i would tell you what i know about this. Years ago worked briefly for a finance company. Saw a tradeline on a credit report for child support much as you described yours, paid on time, no lates, etc. asked my supervisor about this as had never seen a child support tradeline and was advised that if all positive it was viewed like any other tradeline. I would assume that is still the case today. If you pay it on time and keep it positive it should help your score. Any lates or other derog on it would hurt your score. You may want to do a search on this forum if you have not already. Saw some older posts that said basically the same thing. 

Starting Scores: 9/19/2012 EQ 613 / TU 526 / EX 543
Current Scores: EQ 716 TU 724 EX 724 Goal Scores: 700
Message 2 of 16
bahbahd
Established Contributor

I have an open child support tradeline and I am not happy about it. They have stopped updating it as paid and current over 6 months ago - I have been paid & current for over a year and a half.